Work with IXM One permission groups

Prev Next

⚙️ For administrators

Permission groups help you to better map the structure of your organization in IXM One.

You can specify which areas users can see and what they can do by assigning them a permission group.

Note

  • You can assign multiple permission groups with different permissions to a user type.

  • You must assign at least one permission group to each user.

  • Despite permission groups, you can't unlock all areas for all user types.

Create permission groups

To create a new permission group, perform the following steps:

  1. Go to Administration > Permissions > Permission groups.

  2. To create a new permission group, click on New in the bottom right corner.

  3. In the Create new permission group dialog, specify the following General details:

    Name

    Enter a name for your permission group.

    Description

    Optionally, enter a description or comment.

    Type

    Select one of the following user types:

    • Admin

    • Standard users

    • Location users

    Spot editing level

    Select one of the following spot editing levels for managing spots and their content:

    • Spot admin

    • Spot editor

    • Extended spot user

    • Spot user

    There are additional permissions that you can set specifically for visible elements:

    Note that you can create up to five spot editing levels on the server. To do so, please contact your Grassfish partner.

  4. In the Content tab, specify the following details according to your requirements:

    Playlist

    Select which areas users of the permission group can access:

    • Playlist allows users to access playlists.

    • Playlist release allows users to release a playlist before publication.

    • Playlist management allows users to create, edit, copy, and delete playlists. Note that users need write permission for the playlist as well.

    Media management

    Select to allow users of the permission group to manage media files.

    Archive

    Select to allow users to manually archive and release content.

    Data sources

    Select to allow users to view UDC data.

  5. In the Channels tab, specify the following details according to your requirements:

    Location

    Select which areas users of the permission group can access:

    • Location allows users to manage players and locations.

    • Player messages allows users to access player notifications.

    Screen layout

    Select which areas users of the permission group can access:

    • Screen layout allows users to access screen layouts and audio channels.

    • Screen layout management allows users to create, edit, copy, and delete screen layouts. Note that users need write permission for the screen layout as well.

    Program scheme

    Select which areas users of the permission group can access:

    • Program scheme allows users to access program schemes.

    • Program scheme management allows users to create, edit, copy, and delete program schemes. Note that users need write permission for the program scheme as well.

    Reports

    Select to allow users of the permission group to manage reports.

    Administration

    Select to allow users access to administration.

    Dashboard

    Select which areas users of the permission group can access:

    • Messages allows users to see the message pane in the dashboard.

    • Widget allows users to see widgets in the dashboard.

  6. Click Save to save your changes.

Edit permission groups

To edit an existing permission group, perform the following steps:

  1. Go to Administration > Permissions > Permission groups.

  2. In the Permission group management pane, select the permission group that you want to edit and select Edit. Alternatively, double-click on it.

  3. In the Edit permission group window, make your changes.

  4. Click Save to save your changes.

Delete permission groups

Note

You can only delete a permission group if it's not assigned to any users.

To delete an existing permission group, perform the following steps:

  1. Go to Administration > Permissions > Permission groups.

  2. In the Permission group management pane, select the permission group that you want to edit and select Delete.

  3. In the subsequent dialog, confirm the deletion with Yes.

Permissions to areas and functions

Different types of user can access different areas and functions in IXM One.

The following table shows which access rights the different user types have by default:

Admin

Standard user

Location user

Location

*

---

Screen layout

*

---

Program scheme

*

---

Player notifications

*

---

Playlist

Release of playlists

*

---

Media management

Archive

*

*

Reports

*

---

Administration

*

---

  The area or function is activated for the user type by default and can be deactivated via the permission group.

* The area or function is deactivated for the user type by default and can be activated for the permission group.

---   The user type does not have access to this area or function.

Allow user groups to upload spots

Note

  • Each user should have only one user group that has an upload config.

  • You must create specific user groups for each customer.

  • Don't use existing user groups that are used for other permissions in IXM One, such as "Restricted spot upload".

Please contact your Grassfish partner for more information on this solution.

Users of certain user groups can upload spots to the spot pool.

  • It's possible to override the system upload restrictions based on the group ID in IXM One config file.

  • Via the config file, you can add all values from the upload config per UserGroupId.

  • You can specify these configuration values under the common entry.