Manage linked spots

Prev Next

Linking spots is useful if you want to edit spots from a central location and automatically update any linked spots.

You can use linked spots in different spot groups and playlists while the original spot remains where it is.

Note

Linked spots are not the same as copies. If you copy a spot and edit the original one, the copy is not updated.

Prerequisites

Before you link spots, read the following prerequisites:

  • You need writing permission in the original spot's spot group and the target spot group(s) of the linked spots.

  • If you want to edit the spot settings or content, edit the original spot. Linked spots can't be edited.

  • Changes to the original spot are automatically reflected in all linked spots.

  • If you delete an original spot, all linked spots of a spot are deleted too.

  • If you delete a linked spot, other linked copies or original spots are not affected.

  • You can't use linked spots in order lists. All editing and release processes affect original spots.

Create linked spots

To create a linked spot, perform the following steps:

  1. Go to Content > Playlist.

  2. In the Spot groups pane, select the spot group of the spot that you want to make a linked copy of.

  3. In the Selectable spots pane, select a spot and drag it into the spot group in which you want to create the linked spot.

  4. In the Spot actions window, click In this spot group, create links to the selected spots.

Note

  • You can create more linked spots from a linked spot.

  • All linked spots are linked with the original spot by default.